Technical Writing : Why and how it Started

Technical Writing : Why and how it Started

Journey of Blogger to Author

ยท

3 min read

Hello everyone ๐Ÿ‘‹ I'm Viswaprasath; in this article, I would like to share how I got started in Technical Writing and why I am interested in doing this in the future.

Intro About Me

Currently, I am working for Zoho, in India. I loved scaling backend systems for a long time; recently I started contributing to the Frontend of our project. I am trying to learn more about Developer Experience and DevTools. I have contributed to the Mozilla community for a long time as a Senior Firefox OS App reviewer and also mentored other developers to get started with App Development and Add-ons Development. Back in 2018, I wrote book on WebExtension Development which is available for free in gumroad

How I started Blogging

I was introduced to Blogger at the beginning of my Under graduation by my cousin. He was mentioning, when I write articles and when I have more number of readers & visitors then I can earn money. Actually, it looked like a good idea for me so I can earn a small amount and use as pocket money.

How I started Technical Writing

I started writing randomly, like C programs, some how-to-do kinds of stuff in computers. Once our seniors were preparing for the TCS interview, they were trying to register into their learning portal. The registration needed some patience; I was also trying to do registration (thinking I can attend the interview in my 3rd year itself). That specific single blog post got more than 200K+ visits which were more than visits I got for all my posts excluding this. This was the trigger I learned I should write more posts on subjects which I learn, so it can act as knowledge sharing and also digital note-taking for myself.

Writer to Experience Gainer

I was so passionate about Open source technologies and specifically Mozilla community. I started writing more articles on Firefox OS and building apps for Firefox OS; It enriched my knowledge about the platform and applied to become Firefox OS app reviewer and got selected.

Throughout the journey I wrote different types of technical articles, like Explaining APIs, project based articles and sharing experience based thoughts. Everything works on different areas; I was able to experiment and learn various things which works for which type of audience. Around end of 2017, I started learning more about WebExtension for browsers and wrote about them. I tried project based articles; in November 2018 I collected all the post and published them as book on my birthday ๐ŸŽ‰

Nowadays I am learning more around JAMStack, System Design; you can find my articles in my hashnode blog. If you have not joined hashnode you should join for sure and learn a lot on technical related stuffs.

Final Words

In case if you are learning something new, it is must for you to take a note and visit it back later. In case if its digital notes (like public blog post) then you will do lot of research and push it. There is audience for every writer; whether its 1 visit or 100K visit you are sharing your knowledge and helping someone whom you may not know today.